Ruukinpuisto Visitor Centre

The Visitor Centre is a meeting place for all visitors to Kauttua Ironworks in Eura. The Visitor Centre features an exhibition that spans the history of Kauttua from the early days of the village to the present day. The main focus of the exhibition is on the industrial history, nature and community of Ruukinpuisto from 1689 to the present. The Ruukinpuisto area is presented in the Visitor Centre through stories, photos and videos.

Kauttua has been the site of continuous industrial activity for over 330 years, which makes it a unique destination in Finland. Together with the town centre of Eura, Kauttua still constitutes the most industrialised growth area in Finland to this day. A self-sufficient community gradually formed around this industrial site. The families that owned the production facilities took good care of the local community. It was not until the 1950s that the centre of Kauttua moved from the Ruukinpuisto site to its current location along Turuntie road.

Opening hours:

June–August: Tue–Sun 11:00–17:00, at other times open on Saturdays 11:00–15:00. Closed during Midsummer and public holidays.

The opening hours are subject to change. Please refer to the Visitor Centre’s website for up-to-date information.

Entrance fees:

Combination ticket with Alvar Aalto’s Terraced House:

Adults: €8 per person

Groups of over 10 people, visitors aged 7–17, pensioners, students: €4 per person

Children under the age of 7: free admission

The ticket is valid for the day of purchase and can be purchased at the Visitor Centre or at Alvar Aalto’s Terraced House.

Guided tours are organised by Southern Satakunta Travel Guides. Enquiries: Kaisa Repo/Southern Satakunta Travel Guides, tel. +358 50 377 5245. Fee for guided tours: €50 (+ VAT 24%). Maximum group size: 25 persons. Language surcharge +€10.

Contact information

  • Visiting address: Timmintie 20 b