Built by Robert Junnelius and Hugo Rosenlew for their families, the building is also known as the Junnelius palace, and it was completed in 1895. Designed by the architect August Krook, the Renaissance palace is completely unique in Finland and therefore part of Pori’s most valuable building heritage. The construction plan was inspired by Italian Renaissance architecture. It has been functioning as the town hall since 1963.
Robert Junneliuksen sekä Hugo Rosenlewin perheilleen rakennuttama talo tunnetaan myös Junneliuksen palatsina.